BookMark Book Festival

Charity number: SCO45599

BookMark Book Festival

« Back to Authors

bird bullet

Gillian Galbraith

Gillian Galbraith was previously an advocate specialising in medical negligence cases and was at one time the legal correspondent for the Scottish Farmer magazine. She has also written on legal matters for The Times. Now a full-time writer of fiction, Gillian Galbraith has written five Alice Rice novels, all set in Edinburgh and featuring a female detective. Alexander McCall Smith said of the first one, Blood in the Water, "There is not a dull page from start to finish." Other titles include Where the Shadow Falls, Dying of The Light, No Sorrow to Die and The Road to Hell. Another in the series is due to come out this autumn.

Gillian Galbraith

Gillian Galbraith

The first in a new series came out in spring 2014, based rather closer to home in Kinross-shire, with the hero being a Catholic priest. Unlike the police, with all their sophisticated, modern technology, Fr Vincent Ross, in The Good Priest, simply uses his ear for gossip and the grey matter encased in his skull for detective purposes.

Gillian was born in Coupar Angus which is one of the many reasons she is pleased to be invited to BOOKMARK. She now lives with her husband, young daughter and assorted animals and bees near Kinross.

To visit Gillian's website click here


It was fabulous to hear Janice Galloway read from her book Jellyfish. A great evening.

Attendee (Main Festival)

See more comments »

Our Sponsors

pkc16.png Proctor16.png
See all sponsors »