BookMark Book Festival

Charity number: SCO45599

BookMark Book Festival

« Back to Authors

bird bullet

Denise Mina

Denise Mina studied Law at Glasgow University.  Misusing her PhD grant (as she says) she wrote her first novel 'Garnethill' which won the CWA Dagger for Best First Novel. The Garnethill trilogy was followed by ten more novels, among which 'The End of the Wasp Season' and 'Gods and Beasts' won the Theakstons Old Peculiar Award, making her the first writer to win the prize in two consecutive years.

Her latest novel is 'The Long Drop', winner of both the Gordon Burn Prize and the McIlvanney Crime Novel of the Year 2017.

As well as writing novels, she has had three staged in Glasgow and Edinburgh, makes documentaries and films and writes for DC Comics.

Denise Mina

Denise Mina


We were here last night and had to come back today.

We know we will have a lovely time.

It’s been absolutely brilliant, such a lot of hard work has gone into this and it shows.

Nice venue - clean, fresh. Fantastic auditorium.

Excellent. I’ll definitely be back next year. Sally Magnusson was so interesting and inspiring. The calibre of speakers was first class. Thanks so much.

What a brilliant festival! Great authors, lovely venue, & everyone I’ve spoken to is just so friendly!

Fantastic art work from the High School pupils.

Fab displays @bookmarkblair from the talented pupils of @BlairgowrieART Some future stars for the walls at PMAG ?!?

Bookmark just gets better and better.

Audience Members

See more comments »

Our Sponsors

perth.png library.png
See all sponsors »