S G MacLean, Sally Magnusson and Douglas Skelton

Sunday 8 October 2023

Main information

Sunday 8 October 2023
1:30 pm
Blairgowrie Community Campus PH10 6UZ
Shona - S G MacLean
Sally Magnusson
Douglas Skelton
Jenny Brown

S G MacLean - The Bookseller of Inverness - Set in the wake of the 1746 battle of Culloden, Iain MacGillivray was left for dead – years later, he lives a quiet lift as a bookseller in Inverness. But that quiet can only last for so long, with a body being found dead by his shop. 

Sally Magnusson - Music in the Dark - 1884. In a tenement room and kitchen in the town of Rutherglen, near Glasgow, a woman with stark injuries to her face and her mind, and a man who has recently arrived from America, spend the night together...

 Douglas Skelton - An Honourable Thief - 1715. A tale of two cities, and the man caught between them. The Kingdom is riddled with a rumour. The late Queen Anne supposedly left a secret will promising the nation to her half-brother James – the man the Jacobites call the King Over the Water. With George I now settled on the throne, this document could prove devastating.

Jenny Brown established Jenny Brown Associates in 2002. She was previously Head of Literature at the Scottish Arts Council, presenter of book programmes for Scottish Television, and founder Director of the Edinburgh International Book Festival (of which she is now a Board member). She is also a former Committee member of the Association of Authors’ Agents and was shortlisted in 2014 and 2020 for Agent of the Year Award. She is former Chair of the Bloody Scotland crime writing festival (2011–21). She was made an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2021.

The Christine Findlay Prize winner
will be announced by
Sally Magnusson

Our thanks to Castle Water for sponsoring this event

Tickets available from: 
Membership Secretary Rhona Christie  01250 875613 
Adventure into Books - 01250 872852 
Blairgowrie Library - 01250 871305 
Perthshire Box Office

Previous Page