blog img
BOOKMARK Book of the Year 2023

And the winner is…
PAPER CUP by Karen Campbell

BOOKMARK is delighted to announce that Karen Campbell’s Paper Cup (Canongate) is this year’s Book of the Year and Karen is the recipient of Sarah Cave’s beautiful silver bookmark.

This award is based on novels which provide excellent opportunities for book groups. Each one in the shortlist of six, was mentioned in the top 3 by our judges; highlighting the fact that any book group would be promised a first-class discussion with each of these novels.

Karen said: ‘I’m delighted to have won Book of the Year.  is such a lovely, warm Festival, which celebrates books and book lovers, so it’s a real honour for Paper Cup to have been chosen. It’s a novel about folk on the margins, people whose stories rarely get told, so it means a lot that it’s struck a chord with BOOKMARK.  And best of all, I get to come to the Festival next year! Thank you to everyone involved.’

BOOKMARK thanks the judges for their careful consideration of all six novels. Our appreciation also goes to the writers, agents and publishers for their willingness to take part in this Award.

The other novels were:
Paddy Crewe, My Name is Yip (Doubleday)
Eleanor Catton, Birnam Wood (Hachette)
Natalie Haynes, Stone Blind (Mantle)
Sean Lusk, The Second Sight of Zachary Cloudesley (Penguin)
Stephen May, Sell Us The Rope (Sandstone)